Use a CrossTab, or cross tabulation, for grouping and summarizing data fields that expands vertically and horizontally depending on the number of data groupings. CrossTabs are also known as two-way tables, contingency tables, or pivot tables.
A CrossTab report built with the CrossTab Report Wizard
CrossTab Reports can be added to an existing report from the Report Designer, or they may be created as a new report from the main menu.
To add a CrossTab to a report in the Report Designer:
icon on the toolbar, then click
CrossTab. The dialog resembles the Layout tab described below.CrossTabs are created from the Main Menu just as any other report is. Creating a CrossTab from the Main Menu will launch the CrossTab Report Wizard.
The CrossTab Report Wizard is an interactive tool which will walk through the process of creating a new Advanced Report with a CrossTab embedded within it. All of the settings in the wizard can be modified in the Report Designer after the report is created.
The CrossTab Report Wizard has four tabs: Name, Categories, Filters, and Layout. All tabs except Layout are required to create the new report.

In the Name section, enter a name for the report and select a Folder where it will be saved.
The report name can be up to 255 characters long, but cannot contain the following special characters
? : / * " < >
Enter an optional description for the report in the textbox.

In the Categories section, select the Data Objects to include in the CrossTab. It is important to understand the difference between Data Categories and Data Fields. Data objects are arranged into folders. Those objects are further expanded into fields. A field is a parcel of data from a data object, such as the name of a Product or an Employee ID number.
icon.
icon at the end of the row.In the Filters tab, create statements to filter the data at runtime.
A date filter applied to output data from the years 2015 to 2016
There is no limit to the number of filters that can be defined. Filters can be numeric (up to eight decimals) or alphanumeric.
and Move item Down
icons to move the rows to set the filter priority. The top filter has the highest priority.
icon at the end of the row.Detailed information about creating and editing filters can be found in the Filters article.
In the Layout tab, design the CrossTab by moving Data Fields into the Row Header, Column Header, and Tabulation Data panels.

Row Headers expand a CrossTab vertically. A CrossTab has a row for each unique value of a Row Header. For example, if you were using sales data, you may have the Row Headers Category.CategoryName and Products.ProductName to provide rows for each product grouped by category.
icon
icon to insert a formula into the Row Header.
icon to open the Header Options menu.
and Move Item Down
icons to rearrange the order of the Row Headers.
icon.Column Headers expand a CrossTab horizontally. A CrossTab has a column for each unique value of a Column Header. For example, if you were using sales data you may have the Column Headers Year({Order.OrderDate}) and MonthName({Orders.OrderDate}) to provide columns for each month grouped by year.
CrossTab Design Wizard with two column headers
icon.
icon to insert a formula into the Column Header.
icon to open the Header Options menu.
Column Header Options dialog
icon and Move Item Down
icon to rearrange the order of the Column Headers.
icon at the end of the row.Tabulation Data provides information when data exists for both the Column Header and Row Header values. For example, if you have a Row Header on products and a Column Header on the month, then Tabulation Data of Orders.OrderID may use the Count function to display how many orders contained each product each month.
CrossTab Report Design Wizard with row header, column header and tabulation data sources
icon.
icon to insert a formula into the Tabulation Data.
icon to open the Tabulation Options menu.
and Move Item Down
icons to rearrange the order of the Tabulation Data.
.The Theme dropdown can be used to quickly style the CrossTab using a predefined theme.
Further styling can be done in the Report Designer.
Settings that affect the entire CrossTab are controlled in the CrossTab Options Menu. Open the CrossTab Options Menu by clicking the ![]()
CrossTab Options Menu
To get a total for each column, select Top or Bottom from the Placement dropdown in the Grand Total Row section and provide a label in the Label text box.
To get a total for each row, select Top or Bottom from the Placement dropdown in the Grand Total Column section and provide a label in the Label text box.
A preview layout of the steps applied above
At the bottom of the Layout section, a preview will display how the CrossTab will appear based on the fields that have been added.
Finally, clicking the Finish button will create the report and open the CrossTab Report Designer.
Upon entering the Report Designer, the new CrossTab appears in the Report Footer section:
CrossTab Report in Report Designer v2021.1+
To edit the CrossTab after its creation open the CrossTab Data Designer dialog by either:
The CrossTab Data Designer dialog resembles the Layout tab of the CrossTab Report Wizard.
Visualizations and formulas may not be added to the CrossTab. The following error message appears if trying to add one of these to the report:

CrossTabs often contain a large amount of information and may appear cluttered if they are not well formatted. To help avoid overwhelming appearing reports:
Left(MonthName({Orders.OrderDate}), 3) will output the first three letters of each month.Note
Conditional formatting expressions are not evaluated for empty CrossTab cells.