This application consists of two sections. On the left is the Main Menu and on the right are Tabs. The Main Menu displays the available reports, folders, and buttons. Tabs can contain the New Report Wizard, report outputs, design windows, or help pages.
Main interface showing the main menu and tabs
The Getting Started tab will be first tab displayed when entering the application in most cases. The default Getting Started page has three clickable actions:

Create — click to to open the Create New Report menu to create a new report.
Open — click to open the Report Tree. The search field at the top of the tree will be highlighted, and the cursor will be moved thereThrough the Main Menu, you can:
The main menu, depending on system configuration, has three or four mode icons on the left-side. They are:
Create New Report
Browse Reports
View Data Objects
View Schedule Manager
The active mode is indicated with a blue icon, for example when the Browse Reports mode is selected, the icon looks like this:
. Click on the icons to change the Main Menu mode or click on the currently active icon to collapse the main menu and hide it. To show the main menu again, click on any of the icons.
The Main Menu can be broken down into two components: the Report Tree and the Report Descriptions Window.
The Report Tree and Report Description
The Report Tree contains the individual user’s view of their applicable Folders/Sub-Folders and the Reports contained within them.
A 
icon and choose to either Search by Name only or to Include Description in the search. If Include Description is checked, either press the Enter key or click the Search
icon on the right to start the search.
Status icons in each content item’s row indicate its status:
Read Only — content cannot be modified in any way (as designated by the administrator), with the Reports and Sub-Folders within inheriting the same permissions (unless otherwise specified).
Owner — content is owned by the current user. Owners of content have full access to the item and may rename, move, and delete it for all users.Note
A system administrator can still restrict access to content you may own. In this case, the Read Only
icon will appear in place of the Ownericon.
A user can view a list of a folder’s contents by either:
icon next to the folder nameIf a user right-clicks on a folder they have access to (it is not marked read only) within the Report Tree, a menu with the following options appears. The system administrator can enable or disable certain options, so the menu in your system may appear slightly different.

Add Root Folder — create a new folder in the root (top) folder.
Add Child Folder — create a new sub-folder within the existing folder.
Move Folder To Root — moves the folder to the root of the tree.
New… — add a new report to the folder and specify the report type.
ExpressView
Express Report
Advanced Report
Dashboard
Chained Report
Rename — rename the folder.
Delete — delete the folder. If the
Owner deletes the folder, it is deleted for all users of the system. If someone other than the owner deletes the folder, it is deleted for that user only.Note
A folder and all of its sub-folders must be empty for all users in order to delete the folder.
Upload — upload a local copy of a report definition file to the folder.The system administrator can enable or disable certain options, so the menu in your system may appear slightly different.

Run Report — executes the report and displays it in HTML format.
Export As — allows the user to execute a report in any of the following formats:
Note
If one of these export types is unavailable, it may have been disabled by your administrator or by the user who created the report.
Schedule Report — Schedule a report to run immediately, at a later time, or at regular intervals. For more information on scheduling reports, review the Scheduling a Report article.
Email Report — email a report immediately to a specified email address. Clicking an Export As… option allows the user to specify the export format type.
Sending a copy of the report by e-mail as a PDF attachment to [email protected]
Note
In versions pre-v2020.1 if a report is renamed that is used on a composite report (i.e. a Dashboard, Chained Report or a Scheduled Report), an error message will appear when attempting to Execute or Edit it as the link will be broken.
Owner deletes the report, it is deleted for all users of the system. If someone other than the owner deletes the report, it is deleted for that user only.
Download — Download this report’s definition file to the local computer.If someone other than the owner of a report or folder moves it from one folder to another, the item is moved only for that user.
If the owner of the content item moves it, it is moved for all users. The owner’s permissions are “sticky” for that item. The owner will retain the same level of permission they had before the item was moved. If the owner moves a folder to one where the permissions are different than its current location, they will be prompted how to handle the permissions after the move:
Folder Move confirmation prompt
These changes only affect content that the current user owns:
This window displays the description of the selected report. If the report was never given a description, this window remains blank when the report is selected in the Report Tree. For more info on Report Descriptions, please see Report Types.

Tabs make up the application’s main interface. This is where users build, design, and view reports as well as access dashboards and help pages.
Getting Started tab v2020.1+
Tabs can be rearranged by clicking and dragging them left or right.

A save reminder indicator, in the form of a small circle, will appear if changes made to the report have not yet been saved (v2021.1+).
The tab on the right named Employee Information has changes waiting to be saved
Close tabs by either:
Options for closing user interface tabs
Clicking on the User Preferences ![]()
Note
The system administrator can disable some of these preferences, so they not all be available in all environments.
User Preferences dialog
A startup report is a report, Dashboard or ExpressView that runs automatically when the Web Application is launched. Instead of showing the Getting Started page, the startup reports are displayed.
To add a startup report, navigate to it in the dialog’s report tree and then either drag it to the box on the right, or click the 
Use the Move Row Up 
icons to change the order of the startup reports.
Use the Delete 
A user report is a report that has certain customization placed on it by an individual user from within the Report Viewer. For example, a user might make certain filter value selections.
Any of your user reports will be shown in this list. User reports may be deleted by clicking on the Delete 
Clicking on the Contextual Help 
The Context-Sensitive-Help system in the application
To learn more about getting started, continue with Report Types.